We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Loose Advance

by Sutter Zachman

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $7 USD  or more


Kind Machine 04:06
Sylvie 02:59
Write a Song 03:03


In the quietude of a covid quarantine, Zachman self-recorded the bones of Loose Advance -- a collection of stripped-down songs that had been bobbing around for nearly a decade. Zachman performed the songs live, without a metronome, mostly on piano, an instrument he admits he “doesn’t play well enough to fool anyone".

With the raw takes in hand, he enlisted the help of engineer/multi-instrumentalist Ben Brodin (Conor Oberst, First Aid Kit) to dress it up with some additional instrumentation. He and bassist Eliana Athayde (Weyesblood, Waxahatchee) were just about the sole contributors to the album’s “less is more” sound.

One particular example of the album’s starkness is “Sylvie”, a song written around an 18th-century poem he stumbled on one day while sitting at the piano rifling through a poetry anthology. Drawn to its unambiguous prose, the melody “seemed to write itself,” according to Zachman, who added the chorus and lifted the album’s title from the poem. The simplicity of Brodin’s post-production might conjure echoes of Randy Newman’s “Sail Away” with a twist of chamber folk.

His intentions are made clear on “Kind Machine”, an acerbic lyric taking on serious self-examination - one might catch whiffs of John Lennon's "Jealous Guy".

The collection has an audibly pastoral and undercooked feel to it; abstinent from modern music conventions and exuberance. Zachman's mood is calm and content, and fully saturated in the song.


released April 7, 2023

Produced by Sutter Zachman and Ben Brodin
Mixed by Ben Brodin
Mastered by Carl Saff
Artwork by Austin Pulliam

Eliana Athayde - Bass (tracks 1-3, 6)
Megan Siebe - Strings (tracks 2, 7)
Tim Gillespie - Tenor Sax (track 7)
Ben Brodin - pretty much everything else

All songs written by Sutter Zachman except:

Ain't No Shame in Leaving (Zachman/Mandell)
Sylvie (Zachman/Mandell/Wortley Montagu)
Write a Song (Zachman/Greene)


all rights reserved



Sutter Zachman Omaha, Nebraska

Sutter's first single, "Back to Sleep", achieved a welcoming radio debut in Ireland (RTÉ Radio 1 & BBC) and earned him an in- studio performance with Yahoo! Music back in 2014.

His forthcoming album, Loose Advance, is further evidence of his capabilities as a producer and songwriter, reminding us that sometimes it's about laying off perfection and laying into the performance.
... more

contact / help

Contact Sutter Zachman

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Sutter Zachman, you may also like: